The Union of Earth and Water

April 22, 2017

Pieter Paul Rubens - The Union of Earth and Water (Antwerp and the Scheldt), 1618

The four elements, Earth, Air, Fire, and Water, were considered to be fundamental elements of the world contents, and were usually depicted as classical gods and goddesses. Earth is personified by Demeter (Ceres); Water is personified by a river god; Air is usually represented by Hera (Juno); Fire is represented by Hephaestus (Vulcan) or may be depicted as a woman with her head in flames.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

July 31, 2019

Please reload

advertise                contact us                 terms of service                submissions                  customer service

© 2017 proFmagazine ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

  • facebook
  • twitter icon
  • instagram
  • pinterest
  • linkedin

follow us